Week 4 – I am no stranger to weird food combinations.

First off, I have to say: I love hummus. This week hummus and celery became my new snack obsession. I’ve always liked hummus, it’s amazing with pita chips, wheat thins, or basically any type of cracker. Since I’m attempting to eat almost no bread products for six weeks, I looked up alternatives to eat with my hummus. I’ve always been a huge fan of peanut butter and celery. “Ants on a Log” is where it’s at. Unfortunately, peanut butter isn’t as healthy as hummus. I gave celery and hummus a try, and it is equally delicious. 

During week 4 I got past my weird chocolate cravings (thank goodness). I know it seems like I’m being very hard on myself about all of this, but I did celebrate (my 13 pound weight loss) on the Fourth of July by allowing myself to have some ice cream. For America, after all. It was so delicious, but after a month of eating mainly natural sugars, I felt very very sick later that night. So much that I will probably refrain from eating ice cream for a long time. It was just nice to realize that I can let myself have a treat every now and then and it won’t ruin all of my hard work (or any other ridiculous ideas I might try to convince myself). 

So far in my newly changed lifestyle, I’ve been doing everything by myself. For the past month my boyfriend has been out of town, and I’m so excited that he’ll be coming home in less than a week. I’ve already started thinking about what my food situation is going to be like. We eat many meals together a week, and I don’t want him to have to suffer by eating celery and hummus all the time just because it’s my new obsession. This past week I started looking up healthy recipes, or alternatives to make good food into good healthy food. Someone recently told me about a way to make pizza crust out of cauliflower. To non-veggie lovers, it sounds disgusting (apparently), but I researched the process and it doesn’t seem very difficult. I started planning a meal for next weekend that consists of a veggie pizza with cauliflower crust. This will also give me a chance to work on my cooking skills (which are a work-in-progress, to put it kindly). I’m sure next weekend I’ll have all the details as to whether or not my cauliflower pizza crust was delicious, disgusting, or even successful. 

Tomorrow is the first day of Week 5, and I think this running thing might be a new hobby for me.

For now, I’ll leave you with a picture very near to my heart:

Image

One thought on “Week 4 – I am no stranger to weird food combinations.

  1. If you aren’t totally grossed out by mushrooms, portabello caps make a nice crust replacement as well! You just scrape out the inside,add toppings and place it in the oven for a bit!

Leave a Reply

